

FNU News

Fiji National University partners with Australasian College for Emergency Medicine



Caption (L-R) ACEM Rep Peter White, ACEM President Dr Simon Judkins, FNU Vice Chancellor Professor Nigel Healey and Dean College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences Dr William May.

he Fiji National University (FNU) students who are studying Emergency Medicine through the College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences (CMNHS) will get an opportunity to receive specialist training following the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM).

The MoU will encourage and promote collaboration in the areas of research, education and faculty development.

ACEM is the not-for-profit organisation responsible for training emergency physicians and advancement of professional standards in emergency medicine in Australia and New Zealand.

The MoU was signed by the FNU Vice Chancellor Professor Nigel Healey and ACEM President Dr Simon Judkins yesterday afternoon at the DevelopingEM Conference held at the Chapel Beachfront, InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, Fiji.

Vice Chancellor, Professor Nigel Healey said the partnership was a significant milestone for the University.

"The signing of this MoU shows the commitment we all have to the betterment of human life through relief of suffering that comes about from unexpected and severe illness and injury," said commented Professor Healey.



ACEM President Dr Simon Judkins congratulates Dr Deepak Sharma on the Mika Ah Kuoi Award for Excellence.

"In Fiji, the landscape for Emergency Medicine is still fresh and untapped. Huge gains are yet to be made through collaboration and partnerships in teaching, training, research, guidelines, policy, forums and debate," the VC added.

FNU's first postgraduate programme in this field, the Postgraduate Diploma in Emergency Medicine, was launched seven years ago.

"Since then we have grown to a master's programme and graduated

six specialists, with the next two graduating next week at our December graduation ceremony. Each year, the emergency medicine programme continues to grow in popularity amongst the young doctors" said the Vice Chancellor.

Professor Healey said ACEM had a long history of supporting and collaborating with the Pacific to develop and establish Emergency Medicine as a specialty.

ACEM said it was committed to building the capacity of emergency medicine programs for countries within the Asia-Pacific region.

"As a founding member of the International Federation for Emergency Medicine (IFEM), ACEM is committed to promoting access to, and leading the development of, the highest quality of emergency medical care for all people," said Dr Judkins after the MoU signing.

"This agreement, through activities such as building and developing staff capacity and sharing of teaching resources and curriculum, will enable ACEM and the Fiji National University to work towards the common goal of promoting the creation and growth of the specialty of emergency medicine," Dr Judkins added.

ACEM also announced Dr Deepak Sharma, who completed his Masters in Emergency Medicine from FNU's College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences, the recipient of the Mika Ah Kuoi Award for Excellence.

Funded by the ACEM Foundation, the award is presented to the highest performing student in the Master of Emergency Medicine program in Fiji.

"I feel very happy, satisfied and humbled on being this year's recipient of the Mika ah Kuoi award," Dr Sharma said.

He said emergency medicine was one of the most important pieces of the jigsaw puzzle of medical care.

"Emergency Medicine is still very new in Fiji but we are creating some big waves and several of our medical colleagues and more importantly our patients can see the difference".

"We see different levels of sick patients in different volumes at different times of the day and week, therefore training in this field is crucial to ensure we deliver the best directed care to our patients all day every day," Dr Sharma said.

Dr Sharma is the second recipient of the award, following Dr Shivani Shailin taking the honour in 2016.