National Trade Testing Scheme

As an authority responsible for skills certification, the National Trade Testing Scheme fulfils a number of tasks enabling workers in Fiji to obtain certification for their skills. Whilst operating under the Trade Testing Regulations (1976) of the Training and Productivity Authority Act (formerly the Fiji National Training Act), the Scheme:

  • Sets the standards for certification. It does this in consultation with representatives of employers, trade unions and relevant government bodies to ensure that the standards set are relevant and specific to the needs of the industry
  • Conducts the tests
  • Awards the Trade Test Certificates to successful candidates

There are three levels of testing under the scheme (as required by the 1976 Fiji National Trade Testing Regulation). These are:

  • Class III Assistant Tradesman Level
  • Class II Qualified Tradesman Level
  • Class I Supervisor Level

There are no minimal educational requirements for candidates, which means that candidates having some or no formal training are entitled to demonstrate their level of skill against the established standards, provided they have the necessary trade or industry experience and knowledge in discipline.

The scheme offers skills assessment and certification in 29 various trades and it is highly recognized nationally and internationally as well.  Over 29890 people have taken the opportunity to get themselves assessed and we encourage other tradespeople to take up this opportunity. The minimum wage rate for the three levels is regulated by the National Minimum Wage Regulations Orders 2017 (under Building, Civil and Electrical Engineering Sectorial Regulations).